2011 graduate student award winners announced

Author: Shelly Goethals

The Department of Physics has announced the recipients of the 2011 graduate student awards.

The 2011 Physics Research and Dissertation Award recipient is Xinghai Zhao. His advisor is Prof. Grant Mathews. The title of his dissertation is “Cosmic Expansion in Inhomogeneous Cosmologies and the Formation of Local-group Like Systems.”

The 2011 Larry O. Lamm Memorial Award in Nuclear Physics recipient is Daniel Robertson. His advisor is Prof. Michael Wiescher. This award recognizes outstanding service and dedication to the nuclear research lab.

These awards will be presented the Department of Physics commencement event on Sunday, May 22.