2014 GPS Conference a success

Author: Shelly Goethals






The Graduate Physics Students’ group (GPS) held its third annual Spring Conference on Monday, April 28. This conference showcased the research of graduate students across all research groups in the Department of Physics.

Students presented posters of their research, answered questions during the open sessions, and were judged. Awards for the posters went to Ed Lamere (1st place), Karen Ostdeik (2nd place), and Liz DeWaard (3rd place).

Five students gave research talks during the conference. Talks were given by Nancy Paul (Advisor Prof. Aprahamian), Benjamin Rose (Advisor Prof. Garnavich), Karen Ostdiek (Advisor Prof. Collon), Iogann Tolbatov (Advisor Prof. Ptasinska), and Landon Lehman (Advisor Prof. Martin).

This year’s GPS Conference Committee included Alex Long, Catherine Rastovski, Allison Showalter, Andrew Nystrom, Ali Snedden, and Mallory Smith. The conference was sponsored by the Graduate Student Union (GSU), the Joint Institute for Nuclear Astrophysics (JINA), the College of Science, and the Department of Physics.

The GPS Mission: We seek to combine the intellectual rigor of science discourse with a sustainable student support network. Our meetings provide a platform for open scientific discussion of research and expression of opinion. We inspire collaboration and fellowship amongst physics faculty and students. We encourage connections between the students and faculty from other departments and institutions. By fostering a community built on intellectual, professional, and social interactions, we provide graduate students the freedom to grow as scientists.