News » Archives » July 2011

NISMEC trains local teachers in guided inquiry

July 25, 2011 • Categories: News


The Northern Indiana Science, Mathematics and Engineering Collaborative (NISMEC) is hosting workshops this summer for local intermediate and high school science teachers, focusing on best-practice approaches to science education and the new Indiana science standards that take place this fall. Led by Notre Dame faculty and the South Bend Community Schools Corporation, NISMEC received two grants totaling more than $600,000 to support the workshops.…

Notre Dame iCeNSA collaboration results reveal new brain information

July 12, 2011 • Categories: News


Research by Maria Ercsey-Ravasz and Zoltan Toroczkai of the Interdisciplinary Center for Network Science and Applications (iCeNSA) and Department of Physics, in collaboration with a group of neuroanatomists in France, has revealed previously-unknown information about the primate brain.…

Researchers reveal protein dynamics as regulators of cell-division

July 12, 2011 • Categories: News


A collaborative study between the laboratories of Jeff Peng at the University of Notre Dame and Felicia Etzkorn at Virginia Tech has discovered an important element of how Pin1, an enzyme involved in cell division, does its job. Their report, “Stereospecific gating of functional motions in Pin1,” appeared recently in the online edition of the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. Prof. Peng is a Concurrent Professor of Physics.…

Furdyna presents plenary lecture at European Conference on the Physics of Magnetism 2011

July 06, 2011 • Categories: News


Department of Physics Professor Jacek Furdyna, the Aurora and Thomas Marquez Professor of Information Theory and Computer Technology, was invited to present a plenary lecture entitled “Exchange Coupling in Magnetic Semiconductor Superlattices and Multilayers” at the European Conference on the Physics of Magnetism 2011, held in Poznan, Poland June 27 to July 1, 2011. The material presented was the collective achievement of Prof. Furdyna and his collaborators J. Leiner, M. Dobrowolska and X. Liu from Notre Dame, Sanghoon Lee and Jae-Ho Chung from Korea University, and Brian Kirby from NIST. Other plenary speakers at the conference included Prof. Peter Gruenberg, 2007 Nobel Prize winner, Hideo Ohno, the discoverers of ferromagnetism in semiconductors, Laurens Molenkamp who presented his seminal work on topological insulators, and other prominent scientists working in the field of magnetism from around the world.…