News » Archives » May 2013

Physics graduates recognized at Dean's Awards Luncheon

May 24, 2013 • Categories: News

Greg Crawford, dean of the College of Science, hosted the annual Dean’s Award Luncheon on Friday, May 17, 2013 in the Jordan Hall of Science Galleria. Over 250 students, family members, faculty, and staff were in attendance to celebrate the achievements of the college’s top graduates from the Class of 2013. …

Delgado to participate at KITP workshop

May 22, 2013 • Categories: News


Professor Antonio Delgado has been invited to spend five weeks at the Kavli Institute of Theoretical Physics (KITP) located at the University of California-Santa Barbara. He will be participating at the workshop "Exploring TeV Scale New Physics with LHC Data"

2013 graduate student departmental awards

May 21, 2013 • Categories: News

The recipients of the 2013 graduate student awards presented by the Department of Physics:

Pinaki Das, PhD, recipient of the Graduate Student Dissertation Award
Thesis title:  Vortex Lattice Studies in Novel Superconductors Using Small Angle Neutron Scttering
Advisor: Prof. Morten Eskildsen

Ethan Uberseder

2013 physics graduation ceremony

May 20, 2013 • Categories: News

On Sunday, May 19, the Department of Physics awarded diplomas to 30 graduating seniors during an event in the Jordan Hall of Science. Bachelor of Science degrees were presented by Prof. Mitch Wayne, Department Chair, and Prof. Anthony Hyder, Director of Undergraduate Studies. Snapshots from the reception and diploma event can be found at the Notre Dame Physics Facebook page

Lincoln recognized for outreach efforts by the European Physics Society High Energy Physics Division

May 16, 2013 • Categories: News


Adjunct Professor Don Lincoln is the 2013 recipient of the Outreach Prize from the European Physical Society, High Energy Physics Division. The citation says that Lincoln is being recognized for, "communicating in multiple media the excitement of High Energy Physics to high-school students and teachers, and the public at large.”…

New international study program for physics majors

May 15, 2013 • Categories: News

The University of Notre Dame’s International Studies office has announced that it will offer three new opportunities for study abroad in South Korea, Spain and Switzerland in spring 2014. Of special interest to physics majors should be the program in Switzerland.…

Varga to attend Santa Fe Institute

May 14, 2013 • Categories: News


Physics graduate student Melinda Varga has been accepted into the 2013 Complex Systems Summer School at the Santa Fe Institute. She was selected for her academic credentials, research and interdisciplinary interests. Selection for the school is highly selective as there is only one spot for every six applicants. The annual program will take place from June 3-28 and consists of lectures, laboratories, and discussions sessions focusing on ideas, tools, and current topics in complex systems research in mathematical, physical, living, and social systems. Students also complete team projects related to topics discussed during the program…

Department's undergraduate award winners announced

May 08, 2013 • Categories: News

Each year the Department of Physics recognizes undergraduate students with a variety of awards. This year’s honorees are Kevin Kelly, Vu Nguyen, and Kevin McDermott.

Kevin Kelly has been selected to receive the Outstanding Physics Major Award. This award is given to a physics graduate selected by a number of criteria including academic performance, contributions to the major, and potential for future success. It is the highest honor the Department of Physics can award to one of its graduates.

2013 Hichwa fellowship awarded

May 07, 2013 • Categories: News

The third annual Hichwa Summer Research Fellowship has been awarded to Vincent Burns. Burns works with Professor Nicolas Lehner as a member of the KODIAQ (Keck Observatory Database of Ionized Absorbers toward QSOs) collaboration. The aim of KODIAQ is to study the diffuse plasma of the universe where the bulk of the baryonic matter may be present. Specifically, we seek to understand how galaxies interact with the IGM at redshift z~2-3.5 (i.e., when the Universe was ~2-3 billion years old).…

Newman receives 2013 Director of Graduate Studies award

May 03, 2013 • Categories: News


Prof. Kathie Newman, Department of Physics, is being recognized with this year’s Director of Graduate Studies Award. The award is given by the Graduate School to recognize the person who has made the most significant impact on graduate studies in his or her program.…

Graduate Physics Students Spring Conference

May 03, 2013 • Categories: News

The Graduate Physics Students’ group (GPS) held its second annual Spring Conference on Wednesday, May 1. This conference showcased the research of graduate students across all research groups in the Department of Physics.


There were 16 students who presented posters of their research. The students answered questions during the open sessions, and were judged. Awards for the posters went to Rich Pimpinella (1st

Dobrowolska recognized with the Joyce teaching excellence award

May 01, 2013 • Categories: News


Prof. Margaret Dobrowolska-Furdyna, the Rev. John Cardinal O'Hara C.S.C. Professor of Physics, is a recipient of the 2013 Joyce teaching excellence award.  The Rev. Edmund P. Joyce C.S.C. Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching are given annually to faculty who have had a profound influence on undergraduate students through sustained exemplary teaching. Faculty committees in each of seven disciplinary areas review the peer and student nominations. The undergraduate teaching award is supported by a gift from the late Father Joyce’s classmates in the Class of 1937.…