News » Archives » January 2015

Notre Dame QuarkNet Center expands masterclasses in Chile

January 27, 2015 • Categories: News


A year ago, Notre Dame International awarded the Notre Dame QuarkNet Center an Andrónico Luksic grant to create the Masterclass Institutes Collaborating in the Americas (MICA).  Program directors Mitchell Wayne, professor of physics, and Kenneth Cecire, QuarkNet national staff teacher, used the funds to create a collaboration between Pontifica Universidad Católica (PUC) in Santiago, Chile and the University of Notre Dame particle physics education and outreach programs.

Big Picture Science coming to Notre Dame

January 26, 2015 • Categories: News

The College of Science welcomes Big Picture Science to Notre Dame! Big Picture Science is a national radio show and podcast that connects new ideas in science and technology in surprising and humorous ways in order to explore breakthroughs in research and their implications.…

Ptasinska to serve on editorial board of the European Physical Journal

January 26, 2015 • Categories: News


Sylwia Ptasinska, the Tom and Carolyn Marquez Assistant Professor of Physics, was recently selected to serve a three-year term on the editorial board of the European Physical Journal D:Atomic, Molecular, Optical and Plasma Physics.

The European Physical Journal (EPJ) is a series of peer-reviewed journals indexed in all major citation databases, and covering the whole spectrum of pure and applied physics, including related interdisciplinary subjects. EPJ carries on the tradition begun by European physics publications in the twentieth century and aims to offer to the international scientific community a unified platform for the global dissemination of physics and related sciences. The editorial boards of the EPJ journals consist of distinguished scholars from around the globe who are committed to the highest standards of scientific quality.…

Call for abstracts: College of Science Joint Annual Meeting (COS-JAM)

January 19, 2015 • Categories: News

COS JAM 2013

The 9th annual College of Science Joint Annual Meeting (COS-JAM) will take place in Jordan Hall of Science on Friday, May 1, 2015, as part of the 8th annual Undergraduate Scholars Conference.  The intent of COS-JAM is to highlight the achievements of undergraduate students conducting scientific research.

Aprahamian elected to the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics

January 19, 2015 • Categories: News


Ani Aprahamian, the Frank M. Freimann Professor of Physics, has been elected to the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) Commission on Nuclear Physics. IUPAP established the commission in 1960 to promote the exchange of information and views among the members of the international scientific community in nuclear physics.  Members are elected for three-year terms to the commission by physics societies in the United States.

Applications for NDnano summer undergraduate research fellowships now open

January 13, 2015 • Categories: News


The Notre Dame Center for Nano Science and Technology (NDnano) has several undergraduate research fellowships available for summer 2015. The NURF program offers motivated undergraduates the opportunity to learn more about a specific area of research in nanoscience or nanoengineering, gain valuable skills inside and outside the lab as part of a faculty-led team, and interact with the other students in Notre Dame's summer research community. Nearly 30 projects are available to choose from.

8th Annual Collaborating for Education & Research Forum

January 12, 2015 • Categories: News


The 8th annual Collaborating for Education and Research Forum will be held on Saturday, January 31st, from 8:30 AM until 2:30 PM in the Jordan Hall of Science on the campus of the University of Notre Dame. Breakfast and lunch will be provided, as will certificates for 5 professional growth points for K-12 teachers and administrators. Registration is just below.…

Aprahamian re-appointed to FRIB Science Advisory Committee

January 08, 2015 • Categories: News

Ani Aprahamian

Ani Aprahamian, Frank M. Freimann Professor of Physics, has been re-appointed to the Science Advisory Committee for the Facility for Rare Isotope Beams (FRIB) at Michigan State University. The committee provides recommendations to the FRIB director on the most interesting science that should be done at the facility and the associated experimental equipment that should be implemented. The committee is composed of a group of leading scientists with rare-isotope expertise from institutions in the United States, Germany and Japan.

Garg selected as a Fulbright Specialist in Physics Education

January 06, 2015 • Categories: News


Prof. Umesh Garg has been selected a Fulbright Specialist in Physics Education for a five-year term.

The Fulbright Specialist Program promotes linkages between U.S. scholars and professionals and their counterparts at host institutions overseas.  The program awards grants to qualified U.S. faculty and professionals, in select disciplines, to engage in short-term collaborative projects at eligible institutions in over 140 countries worldwide.…