News » Archives » November 2017

Three College of Science faculty members awarded Luksburg Foundation Collaboration Grants

November 28, 2017 • Categories: News

Dome In Fall

Three College of Science faculty members are among eight at Notre Dame to be awarded Luksburg Foundation Collaboration Grants for projects with Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile (PUC) faculty in Santiago, Chile.



Aprahamian elected as Secretary of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics Commission on Nuclear Physics

November 21, 2017 • Categories: News

Aprahamian Dec 2014 Photo

Ani Aprahamian, the Frank M. Freimann Professor of Physics, has been elected as Secretary to the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) Commission on Nuclear Physics. She will serve from January 2018 through December 2020. IUPAP established the commission in 1960 to promote the exchange of information and views among the members of the international scientific community in nuclear physics.…

Physics professor Garg named AAAS Fellow

November 20, 2017 • Categories: News

Umesh Garg

Umesh Garg, professor of experimental nuclear physics, has been named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Election as an AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers.

Experts to discuss strategies to end lead poisoning

November 13, 2017 • Categories: News

The Eck Institute for Global Health will host “A Blueprint for Action: How We Can End Lead Poisoning in 5 Years” at 6 p.m. Nov. 13 (Monday) at the Near Northwest Neighborhood Community Center. 

Mechtenberg has new role with ND Energy in international sustainable development

November 08, 2017 • Categories: News

Abigail Mechtenberg

The Center for Sustainable Energy at Notre Dame (ND Energy) has taken another leap toward broadening its presence internationally and in particular with Low to Middle Income Countries (LMICs). Abigail Mechtenberg

Notre Dame physics well-represented at DNP 2017

November 02, 2017 • Categories: News

Notre Dame Physics was well-represented at the DNP 2017, which is the fall meeting of the Division of Nuclear Physics of the American Physical Society. Many physics majors, graduate students, postdoctoral researchers, and faculty members attended, as did multiple 2017 ND-REU participants from other universities. Prof. Anna Simon and Dr. Patrick O'Malley, postdoctoral research associate, acted as session chairs. Just a few of the attendees are pictured here.…