News » Archives » April 2019

26 students and alumni win NSF fellowships or honorable mentions

April 30, 2019 • Categories: News

Main Building

The National Science Foundation (NSF) recently announced the winners of its 2019 Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP), with 14 University of Notre Dame students and alumni winning the highly coveted award and another 12 receiving honorable mentions.

2019 Undergraduate Student Awards in Physics Announced

April 30, 2019 • Categories: News

Outstanding Senior Physics Major Award

The Outstanding Senior Physics Major award is given in recognition of academic performance, contributions to the major, and potential for future success.

Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award…

Wiescher gives talk on recently published historical book

April 10, 2019 • Categories: News

On the invitation of the Bergischer Geschichtsverein, one of the oldest Historian Associations in Germany, Michael Wiescher, Freimann Professor of Physics, gave a talk on his recent book Bauern, Weber, Arbeiter. His book and talk are concerned with the socio-economic changes in the city of Barmen during the 18th

NDnano offers collaborative seed grants; proposal deadline is May 31

April 08, 2019 • Categories: News

Notre Dame’s Center for Nano Science and Technology (NDnano) is accepting proposals from Notre Dame faculty in the Colleges of Science and Engineering for one-year seed grants. The purpose of the funding is to stimulate cross-college and cross-disciplinary research that broadens and deepens the understanding of complex scientific questions and grand technical challenges.…

Aprahamian gives opening talk at r-process workshop

April 01, 2019 • Categories: News

Frank Timmes Rprocess Logo

Freimann Professor of Physics Ani Aprahamian was the opening speaker of the workshop on "r-process Sources in the Universe" at Arizona State University in Tempe, AZ held March 27-30, 2019. Professor Aprahamian talked on "Nuclear Physics Experiments and the Neutron Star Merger". The workshop was organized by Frank Timmes of ASU  and Mohammad Safarzadeh of Harvard University and was supported by JINA-CEE. Notre Dame Physics had a large presence from the astrophysics group at with lectures by Professors Grant Mathews