News » Archives » May 2019

Faculty promotions, service recognition, and retirements

May 28, 2019 • Categories: News

On May 22, University of Notre Dame Provost Tom Burish announced the regular faculty who have recently earned the distinction of being promoted, awarded tenure or recognized as emerita or emeritus.  

In the Department of Physics, the following faculty were recognized:…

Congratulations to the class of 2019 physics majors

May 24, 2019 • Categories: News

Img 0579

The Department of Physics had 27 students graduate on Saturday, May 19 at the commencement event held in Jordan Hall of Science. Professor Philippe Collon serves as Director for Undergraduate Studies in Physics.

Congratulations to everyone on your future endeavors!

Prof. Philippe Collon serves as Director of Undergraduate Studies

Attend ND Explores STEM during the 2019 Reunion on campus

May 22, 2019 • Categories: News

Notre Dame Research in coordination with the College of Science and the College of Engineering will participate in the Alumni Association’s Annual Reunion event on Friday, May 31, 2019 from 2:30 p.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Physics staff members celebrate service milestones

May 20, 2019 • Categories: News

Nd Gate

On Monday, May 20 eight Department of Physics staff members were honored at the Service Recognition and Presidential Awards Dinner. This group of eight have a combined 160 years of service to this university.

This year's Department of Physics honorees include:

  • Ken Cecire, 10 years

2019 Graduate Research and Dissertation Award

May 17, 2019 • Categories: News

Hall Matthewphd Oct18 For Web

Each year the Department of Physics recognizes the outstanding research and dissertation of a PhD graduate. This year the recipient is Matthew Hall. His thesis title was "Identifying Long-Sought 18F(p,α)15O Resonances Affecting ɣ–Ray Emission from 18

Physics graduate students receive 2019 Kaneb awards

May 16, 2019 • Categories: News

Kaneb Logo

Physics graduate students Vu Nguyen (advised by Prof. Devis Can Vural) and Taegyun Kim (advised by Prof. Adam Martin) are the recipients of 2019 Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Awards from the Kaneb Center. 

This award was created in 1999 to recognize graduate student instructors and TAs who demonstrate commitment to exceptional teaching in lectures, seminars, labs, and across the academic profession. The Graduate School and the Kaneb Center for Teaching and Learning present the award annually to TAs that are nominated by their departments. There were fourteen awards given to TAs in the College of Science. The award consists of a certificate from the Kaneb Center and Graduate School, a letter documenting the award for the graduate student’s file, a $100 honorarium, and an invitation to a formal dinner hosted by the Kaneb Center and the Graduate School held in April.…

New ND Physics t-shirt available

May 14, 2019 • Categories: News

Forest Green Physics T Web Image

A new t-shirt designed by the Society of Physics Students undergraduate club is now available. It is forest green, and sells for $10 (plus a small shipping fee if you aren't picking it up in the department office).

Other apparel items can be found here: Physics Apparel.

Physics researchers study reasons for biomolecule fragmentation from radiation

May 10, 2019 • Categories: News

Sylwia Ptasinksa 250

Sylwia Ptasinska, associate professor of physics, published research in Physical Review Letters that begins to explain how low-energy electrons cause damage to DNA and proteins, molecules of life. She and her collaborators selected three formamide molecules to serve as models for proteins.

Physics undergrad majors win awards at 2019 COS-JAM

May 10, 2019 • Categories: News

Several students earned awards at the College of Science Joint Annual Meeting (COS-JAM) on Friday, May 3, 2019. Students were invited to share their work in either an oral or poster format. Research may be been conducted on or off campus, and mentored by faculty from the University of Notre Dame and/or at other universities and colleges.…

Three physics faculty among those honored with undergraduate teaching and advising awards

May 09, 2019 • Categories: News

Twenty University of Notre Dame faculty members have received Rev. Edmund P. Joyce, C.S.C., Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching, and three have been honored with Dockweiler Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising.

Senior physics major examines historical plates of binary star system

May 08, 2019 • Categories: News

Senior Erik Peterson analyzed images from the last century to investigate the unique properties of AR-Scorpii, the only known binary star system that contains a white dwarf pulsar.

2019 Society of Physics Students induction

May 06, 2019 • Categories: News

Img 0461updated

The Department of Physics at the University of Notre Dame inducted 12 undergraduate physics majors and one faculty member into Sigma Pi Sigma on Friday, April 26. Professor Manoel Couder, faculty advisor of the Society of Physics Students, and Professor Peter Garnavich, Department Chair, presented the inductees with their honor cords and pins.…

Huestis Selected for DOE Graduate Student Research Award

May 02, 2019 • Categories: News

(From the web page)

Huestis Landscape

Patricia Huestis, a collaborator in the Interfacial Dynamics in Radioactive Environments and Materials (IDREAM