2014 Sigma Pi Sigma Induction

Author: Shelly Goethals


The Department of Physics at the University of Notre Dame inducted 13 undergraduate physics majors into Sigma Pi Sigma on Wednesday, April 23. Professor Peter Garnavich, faculty advisor of the Society of Physics Students, and Professor Chris Kolda, Department Chair, presented the inductees with their honor cords and pins.

Sigma Pi Sigma is the official honor society of the physics profession. Through election to Sigma Pi Sigma, distinctive achievement and high scholarship in physics is recognized and celebrated.

Students inducted were: Vincent Burns, Rachael Creager, Kaitlin Demchuk, David Fleming, Tony Lefeld, Patrick Marino, Kyle McCall, Patrick Mooney, Neal Ravindra, Michael Robbe, Chris Steiner, Chris Torres, Bihan Zhu.

More on Sigma Pi Sigma

Sigma Pi Sigma exists to honor outstanding scholarship in physics; to encourage interest in physics among students at all levels; to promote an attitude of service of its members towards their fellow students, colleagues, and the public; to provide a fellowship of persons who have excelled in physics. Sigma Pi Sigma’s mission is not completed in the induction ceremony with the recognition of academic accomplishment. In the four dimensions of Honor, Encouragement, Service, and Fellowship, the mission of Sigma Pi Sigma takes a longer view.

Founded in 1921, Sigma Pi Sigma is a member honor society of the Association of College Honor Societies. Our society has some 75,000 historical members. Election to Sigma Pi Sigma is a lifetime membership.

The Society of Physics Students (SPS) was formed in 1968 with the union of Sigma Pi Sigma and the AIP Student Sections. Today Sigma Pi Sigma is housed within the SPS.