Forró named Fellow of the American Physical Society

Author: Shelly Goethals

Forro Web Image Sm

Professor László Forró, the Marquez Chair Professor of Physics and Director of Stavropoulos Center for Complex Quantum Matter, has been named a Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS).

The citiation for Prof. Forró reads, "For groundbreaking advances in the understanding of superconductors, C60, carbon nanotubes, and other nano- and biomaterials through the creative application of diverse techniques for synthesis, measurement, and analysis."

No more than one-half of one percent of the APS membership are elected to the status of fellow each year. The fellowship program wacreated in 1921 for scientists in the physics community to recognize their peers’ contributions to the field with original research, innovative applications, teaching and leadership.

“This is both well deserved and long overdue,” commented Prof. Morten Eskildsen, Department Chair. Eskildsen noted that with the new additions, the department counts thirteen APS Fellows among its current faculty and another ten emeriti Fellows.
“The large number of APS Fellows is a testament to the strength of the Department of Physics and Astronomy,” he said.