Diversity & Inclusion

Diversity Statement

The Department of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Notre Dame is committed to developing and sustaining an inclusive environment for all in our community.

Inclusion is the active, intentional, and ongoing engagement with diversity. Diversity is defined broadly and includes both individual differences (e.g., personality, learning styles, and life experiences) and group/social differences (e.g., race/ethnicity, class, gender identity, sexual orientation, country of origin, physical abilities, as well as cultural, political, religious, or other affiliations). Inclusion requires an environment free from both harassment and the perpetuation of stereotypes.

Our community includes physics faculty, staff, graduate students, and undergraduate physics majors, as well as students who interact with us through our courses and others through the department’s outreach. Family, visitors, and collaborators are also considered as being impacted by our community.

The department’s diversity committee aids in this effort by research, promoting of best practices, and engaging the community in thoughtful conversation.

We encourage our community to strive for diversity awareness and to be willing to address equity issues by taking constructive actions.

We are not alone in our efforts and have endorsed the American Physical Society’s joint statement on diversity and are an APS Bridge member institution.

Department of Physics and Astronomy Diversity Committee

The Diversity Committee will work with the chair and the University Director for Academic Diversity and Inclusion to ensure that the Physics and Astronomy Department is and remains a diverse environment at all levels and in which all feel welcome. The committee will help to collect data on efforts to promote diversity in the department and will make recommendations to aid those efforts.

Rebecca Surman (Chair), rsurman@nd.edu
Philippe Collon
Laura Fields
Peter Garnavich
Grace Longbons
Adam Martin
Jenna Smith
Petr Stepanov

College of Science Diversity Council

To give voice to students and address issues of diversity and inclusion within the college, in March we convened the College of Science (CoS) Diversity Council. The three specific charges to the CoS Diversity Council are: 1) To promote a culture within the college that supports diversity in its many forms; 2) To develop strategies to achieve greater diversity among both faculty and students within the college; and 3) To provide oversight to ensure the success of goals.

The CoS Diversity Council comprises both undergraduate and graduate students, faculty members, and staff members, and will report to the Dean of the College of Science. This group will meet monthly during the academic year and advise the Dean on issues, goals, strategies to achieve the goals, and oversight to ensure goals are successfully met. If you would like to make the CoS Diversity Council aware of issues of diversity and inclusion within the College of Science, please reach out to one of the physics department representatives listed below and they will bring the issue to the CoS Diversity Council for consideration and discussion.

Physics Department representative: Prof. Anna Simon-Robertson, anna.simon@nd.edu

Assistant Dean for Advising & Diversity: Prof. Arielle Phillips, Phillips.127@nd.edu

Diversity & Inclusion at Notre Dame

The University of Notre Dame promotes a spirit of diversity and inclusion through academic inquiry, and programs and opportunities that reflect our foundational belief in the dignity of all men and women. Learn more at diversity.nd.edu.

Women in Physics at Notre Dame (link to YouTube video)