Margaret Dobrowolska appointed collegiate chair

Author: Lesley Krueger


Dean of the College of Science Greg Crawford has announced that four professors have been appointed five-year collegiate chairs. In the Department of Physics Professor Margaret Dobrowolska-Furdyna has been appointed the Rev. John Cardinal O’Hara, C.S.C. Professor of Physics. Professor Dobrowolska-Furdyna specializes in magnetospectroscopy of semiconductor heterostructures— systems composed of ultrathin layers of different semiconductor compounds, with thicknesses in the range of a few atomic monolayers.

Other appointees are Professor Nora J. Besansky (Biological Sciences), Professor Patricia L. Clark (Chemistry and Biochemistry), and Professor Claudia Polini (Mathematics). These collegiate chairs are a testament to each of the faculty member’s exceptional accomplishments in research, teaching and service. Their achievements and continued contributions to the University and our region are invaluable.

The collegiate chairs are supported by a grant to stimulate the recruitment and retention of intellectual capital here in Indiana.