Ostdiek recipient of 2015 Browne Memorial Award

Author: Shelly Goethals

University of Notre Dame, Department of Physics, graduate student Karen Ostdiek has been selected as the 2015 recipient of the Cornelius P. Browne Memorial Award.


Dr. Cornelius P. Browne served as the director for the Nuclear Structure Lab for nearly thirty years. Through his hard work and dedication he steered the lab through the most successful period in its history. In honor of Dr. Browne this award is presented annually to an outstanding Nuclear Physics graduate student who has exemplified his work ethic.

Recent award recipient include Dr. Wenting Lu (2014), Dr. Darshana Patel and Dr. Ethan Uberseder (2013), and Dr. Brian Bucher (2012).

(Photo caption: Dr. Sperry E. Darden, Brother Cosmas Guttly, and Dr. Cornelius P. Browne in front of the new particle accelerator in Nieuwland Science Hall, July 1968.)