Physics undergrad majors win awards at 2019 COS-JAM

Author: Shelly Goethals

Several students earned awards at the College of Science Joint Annual Meeting (COS-JAM) on Friday, May 3, 2019. Students were invited to share their work in either an oral or poster format. Research may be been conducted on or off campus, and mentored by faculty from the University of Notre Dame and/or at other universities and colleges.

Best Oral presentations:

Jess Hatfield (advised by Holly Goodson, professor of chemistry and biochemistry)

Sang Woo (Ryan) Kim (advised by Colin Jessop, professor of physics)

Yutong Liu (advised by Malcolm Fraser, professor of biology)

Caroline Murtagh (advised by Amy Stark, assistant professional specialist)

Camille Taltas (advised by David Galvin, associate professor of mathematics)

Best poster presentations:

Stephanie Araki (advised by Gary Belovsky, professor of biology)

Emily Astarita (advised by Jenifer Prosperi, adjunct assistant professor)

Alec Helmke (advised by Marya Lieberman, professor of chemistry and biochemistry)

Sojung Koh (advised by Alex Perkins, assistant professor of biology)

Phillip Petrasko (advised by Tyvette Hilliard,  research assistant professor)

Patricia Portmann (advised by Henry Vu, postdoctoral researcher)

Lihao Yan (advised by Tan Ahn, assistant professor of physics)