Undergraduate Michael Foley receives Goldwater Scholarship

Author: Shelly Goethals

Picture 3

Michael Foley is the recipient of a 2017-18 Goldwater Scholarship. Foley, a physics (astrophysics concentration) and math major and Glynn Family Honors Program minor hails from St. Charles, IL. He is a member of the Society of Physics Students. Foley intends to pursue a Ph.D. in Astrophysics, and to conduct research and teach at the university level.

At Notre Dame, he is mentored by Profs. Grant Mathews and Justin Crepp. He has also been active in research collaborations with people outside of Notre Dame, including Daniel Scolnic (University of Chicago), Richard Kessler (University of Chicago), Ryan Foley (UC Santa Cruz), and Joshua Tan (Chile).

Goldwater Scholars are selected based on academic merit. This year, 240 scholarships were given. The Goldwater Foundation is a federally endowed agency established by Public Law 99-661 on November 14, 1986. The Scholarship Program honoring Senator Barry Goldwater was designed to foster and encourage outstanding students to pursue careers in the fields of mathematics, the natural sciences, and engineering. The Goldwater Scholarship is the premier undergraduate award of its type in these fields.