New leadership in the Department of Physics

Author: Shelly Goethals

The Department of Physics welcomes new leadership effective July 1.

Prof. Chris Kolda becomes Department Chair. Kolda, a theoretical particle physicist, joined Notre Dame in 2000. He assumes the position after seven years of service by Prof. Mitch Wayne.

Prof. Philippe Collon becomes the Associate Chair and Director of Undergraduate Studies. Collon is a nuclear physics experimentalist. He joined Notre Dame in 2003. Prof. Anthony Hyder is the outgoing DUS.

Prof. Chris Howk is now the Associate Chair and Director of Graduate Studies. Howk joined Notre Dame in 2005. Prof. Howk’s research is focused on understanding the evolution of the gaseous components of galaxies and the build-up of the elements since the Big Bang. Prof. Kathie Newman is the outgoing DGS after serving for ten years in the position.