Physics graduate students receive SCGSR awards from DOE

Author: Shelly Goethals


Two University of Notre Dame Department of Physics graduate students were selected to receive U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Science Graduate Student Research (SCGSR) awards: Stephen Kuhn, advised by Prof. Morten Eskildsen, and Anna McCoy, advised by Prof. Mark Caprio.

Kuhn’s research project is “SANS Studies of the Vortex Lattice in Unconventional Superconductors.” He will be collaborating with DOE laboratory scientist Dr. Ken Littrell at Oak Ridge National Laboratory.

McCoy’s research project is titled “Enabling nuclear symplectic calculations at large scale” and will be conducted at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.

The goal of the SCGSR program is to prepare graduate students for science, technology, engineering, or mathematics (STEM) careers critically important to the DOE Office of Science mission, by providing graduate thesis research opportunities at DOE laboratories. The SCGSR program provides supplemental awards to outstanding U.S. graduate students to pursue part of their graduate thesis research at a DOE laboratory in areas that address scientific challenges central to the Office of Science mission. The research opportunity is expected to advance the graduate students’ overall doctoral thesis while providing access to the expertise, resources, and capabilities available at the DOE laboratories.